The North Bengal Mounted Rifles

The Northern Bengal Mounted Rifles: historical notes

The unit was formed 6 August 1873 as the Northern Bengal Volunteer Rifle Corps. The unit absorbed the Darjeeling Volunteer Rifle Corps on 5 August 1881. The smaller Purneah Rifles was raised in August 1884. These units joined together on 15 February 1889 as the Northern Bengal Mounted Rifles. Most members were from the tea community in the Darjeeling District of what is now West Bengal.

Uniform – scarlet

Facing – white

Badge – The Bengal Tiger

Motto – ‘Fideliter’ [Faithful]

Honorary Colonel – The Governor of Bengal.

The unit was formally embodied into the Indian Army during World War I but the area of activity is not known. In World War II it was not embodied though the unit worked through the Indian Tea Association in ‘assisting the civil and military authorities on the frontiers of Eastern India’ and some individual members joined the Indian Army. It was disbanded in August 1947.